Let’s Get Physio

20 11 2007

Well, my run this past Saturday was a little bit of a disaster. It had been two full weeks since my left knee injury; one week off entirely, and the second was symptom-free on the treadmill. About 4k in to my Saturday run and in the middle of a long climb, I could tell my knee was still messed up. Once I made it to 4.43km (half of my intended 5.5 mile Ryan Shay memorial run), I reversed course and backtracked instead of facing the longer and steeper hills had I continued.  By 5k the pain was every bit as bad as it was two weeks before and I resorted to walking. This was tremendously frustrating, but the ‘smart’ (i.e., rational) thing to do. Of course, as soon as I started walking I was seeing more and more runners on the path. Once demoted to a walker, I felt the double humiliation of no longer being worthy of the Runner’s Nod/Wave, while also progressing slow enough to draw “Hello”s from dog walkers and stroller-pushers. So, whenever the path would approach any semblance of flatness, I ran again. The flats were virtually pain-free, but any incline reawakened the daggers in my knee. With this combination of mostly walking and brief running spurts, I made it back home in a surprisingly quick 57:00 for 9k. This was helped greatly by a first 4k in just over 20:00, which I think is a new PR for that distance. My short-term goal is to get under 25:00 for a 5k, but that’s all moot if I’m injured.

I want to treat this injury as effectively as possible and it seems serious enough that two weeks of taking it very easy didn’t fully alleviate the problem. So today I went and saw a physiotherapist for the first time. While there is a little bit of hamstring tendinitis towards the outside of the knee, this wouldn’t be the source of the severe pain. The physio recommended x-rays to see whether I might have a little bone fragment floating around back there after I bashed the kneecap in at the end of October. That’s a little more serious than I thought, but at least it would be a logical explanation for why I can walk and run on a treadmill with no problems but the hills kill my knee. It will be a while before I know, but in the meantime they put me on this muscle-twitcher device that provides pulsing electrical stimulation to the area to reduce inflammation. Weird sensation, but so far so good. I’ve been told to take it easy, but I’m just keeping my fingers crossed I can get a few decent training runs in before my next race on December 1st!

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 11 2007
topher

Dude, that sounds frustrating. Hopefully you’re able to get back to 100% so you can run your race on the 1st. Even if you have to walk it, that’s better than not going at all. Definitely not what a runner wants to do, but I bet you’d still feel glad you laced up and finished.

20 11 2007
Kristina

I’m in the SAME boat! I’m also registered for the Halifax Santa Shuffle, and nursing a knee that went “funny” in last Sunday’s 7 k run. I’m hoping to get in a few more runs before the 1st, but don’t want to make the knee situation any worse.

Do you know what the course is like in Windsor Park?

21 11 2007
Greg on the Run

A runner’s wave to you!

Smart to turn back and walk when the pain became intense. Not so smart to be prideful about running vs walking. I speak from experience – it leads to further injury.

21 11 2007
majarun

Yes, pride before the fall as they say. I know there’s nothing to be gained by running through pain, but putting the brakes on is always a tough lump to take even when it’s ‘just’ a pacing-related decision instead of an injury-related one.

Kristina: I know nothing about the Dec 1st route, but I’ve got my fingers crossed it’s a flat one!

Leave a Reply

