Target Practice

29 10 2007

Since this is my first year of running, I’m a little leery of losing momentum when the cold comes. The “off season” here in Halifax will probably be from January to mid-March, which doesn’t sound too bad, but extended hibernation can be tempting. I think it will be important to keep a few carrots dangling in front of me; or at least to spell out my intentions so it’s not as easy to backslide. Here are some of my immediate and not-so-immediate running goals:

2007:

  • – Join Run Nova Scotia to score a t-shirt and get ready for some friendly competition for the 2008 season.
  • – Register and race in the Halifax Santa Shuffle 5k on December 1 (goal time sub-25:00)

2008:

  • – Compete in at least 7 Run Nova Scotia races (year end standings based on your best 7 finishes)
  • – Complete Bluenose International Half Marathon (just double my current furthest distance)
  • – Complete a marathon (if I can do the Bluenose half in May, I’ll probably feel this is within reach)
  • – Finish in top 5 for my age class by 2008 season end for Run Nova Scotia

One Day/Year:

  • – Complete New York Marathon
  • – Complete Boston Marathon
  • – Complete Comrades Ultramarathon in South Africa (ya right!)
  • – Complete Spartathlon in Greece (okay, now I’m really just kidding! It’s 246km for pete’s sake!)

I think today’s post-run high is making this list a tad ambitious, but that’s what goals are for anyway, right? Just to show how there’s always a longer and tougher race out there to tackle, take a look a this elevation profile comparison which humbles a lot of people’s ‘Holy Grail’ race: Western States vs. Boston

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 10 2007
Greg on the Run

Wow. Those are some mighty ambitious goals. And why shouldn’t you look towards Comrades? You set lofty goals and you’ll achieve lofty goals.

30 10 2007
Topher

First of all, thanks for stopping by my blog. It’s a blast finding new people with the same interests and from whom I am learning so much.

Second of all, I’m stoked that I now know someone in Nova Scotia. It’s way up at the top of my favorite places that I’ve never been. From looking at your pictures, I’m even more excited to go someday.

I, too, started running seriously in the past year, and I still can’t believe I can call myself a runner. I’ve had to eat my words, but “victory” does taste good. Almost as good as donuts.

Anyway, I look forward to reading about your training, and yes, someday maybe I’ll see you at the starting line of the Spartathlon.

1 11 2007
majarun

Thanks for the kind words, Greg and Topher. We’ll definitely have to celebrate if we make it to Comrades or Spartathlon!

In the meantime, if you ever make it to Nova Scotia I’ll be glad to lead a little running tour of the hills around here.

Leave a Reply

