Run For The Hills

18 10 2007

Since moving to Nova Scotia from Ontario this September, I’ve come to the realization that I’d never really ran a hill before in my entire life. For those of you perhaps unfamiliar with Halifax or east-coast Canada, think San Francisco or Seattle and you’re almost there. I have read some running blogs where people take photos along their training routes, but I can’t imagine either 1) lugging my camera with me on my runs; or 2) walking these routes just for ‘fun’. I’m all for walking, but I swear the hills around here would be even harder to walk than they are to run.

I remember living in Ontario and reading about doing “hill work”, and laughing cynically about how on earth am I supposed to find a hill of a particular grade that I can run up for 100 or 200m?  No such problem in Nova Scotia! I can have my pick of grades and my pick of distances all within close range of my front door.  I’m still not sure *why* I am supposed to run hills, but there they are. They have certainly slowed down my pace and re-configured my notion of what a “good” 3k, 5k, or 9k time is, but word on the street is that doing hills is like eating your Wheaties – it sure isn’t fun, but it’s good for you.

That being said, today I’m launching my “Training Routes” page with my current long ‘easy’ route: 9k of grinding it out on the hills of Halifax. I’d love to hear if you’ve got a regular training run that is hillier!

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

